||   Monday, September 01, 2014
Search

  Process and Applications for Dental Licensure in Minnesota   Minimize

Types of Dentist Licenses


 

Licensure by Exam Requirements

 

  1. Graduate from a dental school that is accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Accreditation.
  2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.
  3. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the American National Dental Board Examination, parts I and II.
  4. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure one of the following clinical exams administered by:

a.      Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS).

b.      Board accepts SRTA, CITA, WREB, NERB if passed after 9/25/2009. (If you've passed any of these exams prior to that date, contact the Board office to verify acceptance

c.   National Dental Examining Board (NDEB) of Canada, if

         * a graduate of an Accredited Canadian Dental school, or

         * a graduate University of Minnesota, on or after 5/2010.     

 

You must meet all of the above requirements to be eligible to apply for licensure by exam in Minnesota

 

Application for Licensure by Exam Packet

 


 

Licensure by Credentials Requirements

 

If you have fulfilled requirements one and two above, but have not fulfilled requirements three and four, you may be eligible for licensure by credentials.  To be eligible for licensure by credentials you must also

  1. hold a current license in another state or Canadian Province,
  2. have successfully completed a clinical exam for licensure in another state or Canadian province (Canadian applicants are required to provide an official statement from the National Dental Examining Board of Canada that states they have passed the NDEB clinical examination), and
  3. have been in active practice for 2000 hours of the previous 36 months in another state, Canadian Province, or U.S. government service. 

 

Licensure by credentials involves completing an oral interview and presenting copies of patient records that go before the Credentials Committee of the Board. 

 

Application for Licensure by Credentials Packet

 


 

Internationally Educated Dentist

 

If you are an international applicant, click here to view requirements or contact the Board office for more information regarding licensure requirements.

 

 


Specialty Dentist Requirements

      Note:

1.      A specialty dentist holding a specialty license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area.  The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the American Dental Association.

2.      A specialty dentist holding a general dentist license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area if the dentist has announced a limitation of practice. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the American Dental Association.

The Board may grant a specialty license in the specialty areas of dentistry that are recognized by the American Dental Association. An applicant for a specialty license shall:

1.     Have successfully completed a postdoctoral specialty education program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, or have announced a limitation of practice before 1967;

2.      Have been certified by a specialty examining board approved by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, or provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for licensure required for practice in any state or Canadian province, or in the case of oral and maxillofacial surgeons only, have a Minnesota medical license in good standing;

3.      Have been in active practice or a postdoctoral specialty education program or United States government service at least 2,000 hours in the 36 months prior to applying for a specialty license;

4.      If requested by the Board, be interviewed by a committee of the Board, which may include the assistance of specialists in the evaluation process, and satisfactorily respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice;

5.      If requested by the Board, present complete records on a sample of patients treated by the applicant.  The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant during the 36 months preceding the date of application.  The number of records shall be established by the board.  The records shall be reasonably representative of the treatment typically provided by the applicant;

6.      At Board discretion, pass a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language;

7.      Pass all components of the National Dental Board examinations;

8.      Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination

9.      Abide by professional ethical conduct requirements; and

10. Meet all other requirements prescribed by the Board of Dentistry.

 

Application Form for Specialty Dentist Packet


Resident Requirements

 

You must:

  1. Be an enrolled graduate student or student of an accredited advanced dental education program who is not licensed to practice dentistry in Minnesota.
  2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination.

Application Form for Resident Dentist Packet

 


Full Faculty Requirements 

 

(With a full faculty dentist license you may practice privately.)

 

  1. Submit a letter from the Dean or Program Director of an accredited Minnesota dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting program, indicating that you hold at least a 50% appointment for the purposes of teaching and research only.
  2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.

Application Form for Full Faculty Packet

 


Limited Faculty Requirements

(With a limited faculty dentist license you will not be allowed to have an intramural or private practice.)

  1. Submit a letter from the Dean or Program Director of an accredited Minnesota dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting program, stating that the applicant is a member of the faculty and practices dentistry within the school or its affiliated teaching facilities.
  2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.

Application Form for Limited Faculty Packet

 

 





University Park Plaza
2829 University Avenue, SE, Suite 450, Mpls, MN 55414-3246


Main: 612.617.2250  - Toll Free:  888.240.4762 (non-metro)  Fax: 612.617.2260


MN Relay Service for Hearing Impaired: 800.627.3529


Email: dental.board@state.mn.us

        Copyright (c) 2014 Minnesota Board of Dentistry   ||  ***