Licensure by Exam Requirements
1) Graduate from a dental hygiene school accredited by the Commission on Accreditation.
2) Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the National Board Examination.
3) Within 5 years prior to application, pass a clinical exam administered by:
a. Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS), or
b. Western Regional Examining Board (WREB), or
c. Northeastern Regional Examining Board (NERB) [if passed between 2002-11/30/2009], or
Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA) [if passing date is between 2002-1/1/2007].
4) Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.
You must meet all of the above requirements to be eligible to apply for licensure by exam in Minnesota.
Print an Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam Packet
Licensure by Credential Requirements
If you meet the above requirements, but have not passed a clinical exam within the past five years, you may be eligible for licensure by credentials. To be eligible for licensure by credentials you must:
(1) hold or have held a current license in another state or Canadian Province, in good standing,
(2) have passed a board approved clinical exam for licensure in another state or Canadian province, and
(3) have been in active practice for 2000 hours of the previous 36 months in another state, Canadian Province, or U.S. government service.
Licensure by credentials involves completing an interview with the Credentials Committee of the Board.
Print an Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credential Packet